St Michael's Primary School, 514 Ravenhill Road, Belfast, County Down, BT6 0BW

School Logo

St Michael's Primary School

Courage Courtesy Concern

Get in Touch

The Derrytrasna Pastoral Care Awards 2017


The Awards recognise school communities that have demonstrated exceptional co-operative effort in supporting the pastoral care of pupils and their families. There will be one award each for the pre-school, primary and post-primary sectors.

The closing date is Friday 16 December 2016 and communities are being urged to nominate now.

Encouraging communities to put forward their school for an Award, Education Minister, Peter Weir said:

“Exceptional pastoral care is about the help and support offered to pupils by teachers or the school community to the challenges and difficulties young people face today.  Schools that go above and beyond to make a real difference to their pupils lives. There are many schools that provide exceptional care and should rightly be recognised for their important work in this area.


The nominations received last year, demonstrate the value that communities place on our schools and I would encourage more entries this year.” 

Schools cannot self-nominate but parents or others in the wider school community can nominate a school that has provided exceptional pastoral care.

Supporting the Awards, Valerie Watts Interim Chief Executive of the Public Health Agency said:


“The Public Health Agency is delighted to be involved with the Derrytrasna Awards.  Good pastoral care is integral to supporting pupils in terms of their personal and social development, including mental and emotional wellbeing, educational attainment and future life outcomes.  Children who enjoy and thrive at school are more likely to achieve good qualifications, which in turn are more likely to lead to a fulfilling job directly benefitting health and quality of life.  I look forward to hearing about the examples of outstanding practice through this year’s nominations.”

Applications should be made by no later than 16 December 2016 using the online form available at


Leisa Evans

Pupil Support Team

Tel 9127 9498